London Town was founded in 1683 as Anne Arundel County's seat. Its heyday lasted approximately 100 years, but the town soon dissipated thanks to change in trade routes. The only remaining historic structure on site is the William Brown House. Built in c.1760 as an upscale tavern, the William Brown House became the county's almshouse from 1828 - 1965. Today it is the centerpiece of our historic area, which also includes a reconstructed Carpenter's Shop and Lord Mayor's Tenement with kitchen garden, ropewalk, and an 18th century tobacco barn. Learn more about the history of our site in the Discover London Town exhibit in the Visitor Center.
London Town was recently designated a Site of Memory by the UNESCO Slave Route Project. Find out more about London Town’s participation in the slave trade and the Slave Route Project here.
The crown jewel of London Town's historic area. On the National Register of Historic Landmarks, the William Brown House is currently only available to visit by virtual tour.
Reconstructed on its archaeological footprint, the Lord Mayor's Tenement would have been rented to London Town's lower-class workers. Visit our events page for our next hearth cooking demonstrations in the Lord Mayor's Tenement.
Our newest reconstruction, also built on the shop's archaeological footprint! Discover the different tools that carpenters would have used and what they might have created. Check out our events page to see when Seneca Creek Joinery will next be working in the shop.
This exhibit, in the bottom floor of our Visitor Center, orients visitors to the history of the site and shares the archaeology findings that were uncovered by the Anne Arundel County Archaeological Lab.
Dig deeper into the site's colonial, almshouse and modern histories, discover the people of London Town, and explore additional research.
Lead tours, help with educational groups, or help with other volunteer needs